Oblivion (2013) Review

I had a lot of hope for this movie going in, despite what friends and family were saying. I like Science Fiction, Morgan Freeman, Tom Cruise, and that girl from Quantum of Solace, so I thought this would be right up my alley.

Alas, I was wrong. The action scenes in this movie are few, short, and far between. The movie seems much longer than the listed 2 hours (all the clocks I saw coming out of the movie, including on my phone, indicated that only 2 hours had past, but I remain skeptical and am not willing to completely rule out an international conspiracy among the Scientologists), especially since most of the film consists of slow dialogue between the characters rather than the action sequences I was hoping for.

Tom Cruise never seems to grasp the gravity of what’s going on, at one point deciding to take basically take a day off at his hideaway in the middle of the movie’s climax. Morgan Freeman only appears on screen for about 5 minutes of the whole movie, and thus can’t save it, even though his is the one character you really enjoy seeing.

On maybe a more important note, when are we going to see a really classic ‘Aliens Invade Earth’ movie? As far as I can tell, the title so far goes to The Thing (1982). Some will argue for The Day the Earth Stood Still (1951), but I always thought this was over-rated. Anyway…

Grade: C-

One thought on “Oblivion (2013) Review

Leave a Reply

